Rick Santorum needs to get out my business and stop trying to kill me

Rick Santorum wants to kill or cripple me. Perhaps it is because I have gleefully riffed on the euphemism that Dan Savage invented for the word “Santorum.”  Perhaps he does not like me because am a godless, educated, East Coast woman who is unapologetic about being amoral. Perhaps he thinks me a wanton woman for my checkered romantic past before I married the love of my life eight years ago. However, the Republican Presidential candidate seems to be intent on doing physical harm to the likes of me.

Former Senator Santorum has stated that he wants to leave the legality of birth control to the states so that they may outlaw birth control.  I have an autoimmune disease that has a degenerative neurological course. I am not going to get better.  I am not going to heal up and regain lost motor control. I am on medications that would likely result in either spontaneous miscarriage, or worse, could potentially cause some awful effects on any child I might miraculously carry to term. Hence, without effective birth control, my body and emotional state would be subject to the serious damage a miscarriage would cause, or I would need to take care of a special needs child for whom I could only offer less than optimal care in both a physical and emotional sense because of my own disability. As an added bonus, pregnancy for a woman with MS is often followed by a relapse that can cause further disability! My health is precarious enough as it stands.

Let me state clearly:  I do not begrudge any person with a disease for their decisions about childbearing in their own situation.  I am simply talking about my own life and specific situation.  I am a 47 year old woman. I was diagnosed with MS at 40. My husband and I have made a very serious and considered decision not to reproduce. We had decided this before my diagnosis with MS. When we learned I had MS, we were so relieved that we had not decided to have a baby because it simply would not be a good idea in terms of my treatment, my health status, and our ability to nurture and support a child. This was the right decision for us.

The birth control issue is the tip of the iceberg on the things that the former Senator espouses with which I disagree.  Rick Santorum is driven by deep-seated religious convictions about birth control  that, if put into concrete policies, would hurt women and children by outlawing safe, effective, accessible birth control and family planning options. As a Republican in a party that supposedly stands for less government interference in the personal lives of individual citizens, I find it absolutely appalling for him to be getting up in my business when it comes to my family life. The beauty of being an American is choice. Mr. Santroum may not like my choices, but he does not get to have a say about my decisions in this any more than I have a say about his decisions about his health care and reproduction. He needs to keep First Thessalonians 4:10 in mind, where St. Paul encourages the early Christians in Thessaloniki, Greece “to aspire to live quietly, and to mind your own affairs”.

One response to “Rick Santorum needs to get out my business and stop trying to kill me

  1. He will tell you then “you should not be having sex. The only reason one woman and one man should ever have sex is to create a child. That is the way it is supposed to be.” (source: http://www.salon.com/2012/01/04/rick_santorum_is_coming_for_your_birth_control/ )

    Or a direct quote from Mr. High and Mighty himself:

    “One of the things I will talk about, that no president has talked about before, is I think the dangers of contraception in this country.” And also, “Many of the Christian faith have said, well, that’s okay, contraception is okay. It’s not okay. It’s a license to do things in a sexual realm that is counter to how things are supposed to be.”

    Hope that clears it up for you at the very least; even if it is not much of a consolation. However, Santorum is a dead man walking; he will be yesterdays news very soon.

Leave a Reply

